Design Spectrum

This effort is a collaboration between San José State University’s BFA Graphic Design Program and various organizations in the Bay Area. The projects aim to bring design principles to a diverse audience and foster an awareness of the value of design through education, exposure, and action. 

Many of the core principles of Design Spectrum were incubated at AIGA SF, while founder Julio Martínez served as the Diversity Chair (2012–2016). 

Partners & Collaborators

SJSU: Connie Hwang, Professor, Department Chair
City Studio/SFAI: JD Beltran, Amy Berk
La Cocina: Emiliana Puyana, Geetika Agrawal
SFUSD: Anne Yalon
SLUSD: Jayne Salinger
Youth Art Exchange: Hye Yoon


Veronica-Ronit Bliman
Monica Bosque
Glenn Cardenas
Mike Castro
Hoyin Chan
Ana Cintora
Josué Cruz
Stephanie Dang

Chris Decker
Cindy Duong
Kelvin Esparza-Perez
Jono Heath
Sharon Huang
Marija Istocnika
Jo Ko
Kristina Le

Lorenz Ortiz
Rachel Poage
Natalie Rejas
Ngan Tran
Valerie Truong
Andrew Yee
Seth Zavagno

Reach out: